Windows of the souls

My train route takes me over buildings of the south side of Chicago, and saw a old church being demolished, showing the inner architecture exposed to the air.  I thought it won’t be long before it’s all gone. Unlike other things, they move really fast in Chicago when they’re tearing something down.

st, james3976 copy

A week later I was going to the train to photograph a concert and caught the bus instead.  I didn’t know it would go past the demolition site…

st. james3889 copy

but there’s always a reason why things happen.

st james3983 copy

the windows attracted me the most, like the eyes of a portrait.

St James3928 copy

It felt like the spirit of the church was still there,  down but not out, glowing like the embers of a fire.

St James3953 copy

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear what you think!

